The decision to give up football and really commit to triathlon was one that I was excited about but also nervous. The chance to train and study at Bath was a brilliant move and I'm so happy to be there.

A long winter season training with some great friends, who have helped me and directed in more ways than I could ever of wished for has really been so fantastic. The winter was long and hard as I'm sure everyone in the UK can appreciate committing to lots of training was hard.

The biggest and most integral apart of this season and my triathlon career so far, is being introduced to Andy Bullock by a close friend of mine. His fine attention to detail, outstanding programs and very relaxed approach have complimented me better than I could ever imagine. Our aims this season were to work on the bike as much as possible and really catch up with everyone else whilst trying to maintain my swimming and running. The sole aim of this season was to gain experiences. This aim really has been already achieved and surpassed. I've had some brilliant achievements and also some bad luck and great learning experiences. From a tough start to the season in my first duathlon all the way to competing elite in London. I can't really thank Andy enough for the work he has done with me this year so far and I really hope our strong relationship can continue and I can keep improving and get some big results.

On going calf problems have meant that despite racing, I haven't been able to achieve the mileage in my legs that I could of wished for nor meet the times I set out to achieve.

Working with two great swim coaches, Phil Millard who to this day I still believe is one of the best coaches around has really helped me start to get going in the pool again. Phils knowledge and incredibly intricate sessions have been incredible! The introduction to Steve Cryer mid way this season had also been a huge factor and one that I know will make a bigger impact towards the end of this season and also next year. His determination and change of approach for me has allowed me to be challenged, alter my technique and gave me some great "big dog" confidence.

I have learnt so much already this year and with around 2 months to go now, I'm looking forward to some more good training in the summer sun. Hopefully some more successful races and learning curves before a well earned rest. Having experienced this season is has made me even more determined and despite having around 2 months left on the clock, I cant wait for winter training to really push on and start the new season.

Finally one last massive thank you to Andy Bullock who I cant thank enough, Tim Hallet for his constant support, calls, wheels and wise words. Tom, Neil and so many others for pushing me in training. Steve Cryer for giving me back some edge in the pool and in my mind. Phil Millard for your support and sessions. Kev Tonner for his work on the physio table and mending my calfs. Finally to my family and amazing girlfriend. Thank you to all of you, without you I wouldn't be achieving what I am.

Ciao

Ciaran



Leave a Reply.